Award categories 2019

CHKS Top Hospitals Awards trophies

The awards

Healthcare Efficiency award

The Healthcare Efficiency award recognises organisations that have achieved high standards of operational excellence and outperform their peers on efficiency indicators that support care quality and patient outcomes. To view a list of the indicators, please click here.

Quality of Care award

Awarded nationally for excellence in high quality care to patients, appropriate to their diagnosis, it is based on criteria that include the length of time patients stay in hospital, the rate of readmissions and whether the care pathway proceeded as originally intended.

Patient Safety award

A national award for outstanding performance in providing a safe hospital environment for patients, it is based on a range of indicators, including rates of hospital-acquired infections and mortality.

Patient Experience award

This award focuses on what patients think of their experience when they visit a hospital. It includes performance based on a range of patient experience indicators; including inpatient surveys, the most recent surveys from A&E, outpatient or maternity, friends and family tests and PLACE scores.

Data Quality awards

These awards recognise the importance of clinical coding and data quality, and the essential role they play in ensuring appropriate patient care and financial reimbursement from commissioners. We will present three data quality awards celebrating the best performers across England, Northern Ireland and Wales, based on a range of indicators, with separate awards for specialist trusts and independent sector hospitals.
The CHKS Data Quality Award is a national award for excellence in data quality based on the following indicators:
  • Average diagnoses per finished consultant episode
  • Percentage of non-specific diagnoses
  • Percentage of un-coded finished consultant episodes
  • Percentage of episodes with a ‘sign or symptom’ primary diagnosis

Quality Improvement award

This international, client-only award identifies and measures significant improvements in patient care and patient experience as well as staff welfare, safety and morale. The CHKS Quality Improvement Award 2019 is open to all healthcare organisations accredited by CHKS in 2018. All submissions are evaluated by the CHKS Accreditation Awards Panel and we will invite the shortlisted organisations to the awards dinner on the 12th June. To find out more about our accreditation services please click here.

Top Hospitals awards

Recognising and rewarding the best performing trusts across the UK, the CHKS Top Hospitals Awards are based on the evaluation of 22 indicators of clinical effectiveness, health outcomes, efficiency, patient experience and quality of care. The awards acknowledge the performance of trusts against all hospitals throughout England, Northern Ireland and Wales.

For advice and further information email